Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

Laughter makes the house go round

5 Comments

Nothing makes a situation better than laughter. I have been trying to get a lot of laughter in my life. I try not to get angry or frustrated but it does seep through at times and the people who get the brunt are unfortunately family. I don’t go out much, but when I do it is usually for a few
hours where I can fake it quite well.
I am a master of disguise!
It has been amazing to see how the wonky my body has become. I have this intermittent speech thing where it can sound like stuttering, but I think it is my processor getting stuck on the words trying to come out. It occurs when someone has started a conversation and I have to answer questions or if I am stressed etc…. I can sound like a machine gun or a snake or a balloon letting out air. We laugh about it here. It really is quite funny and I should tape myself one of these days. Laughing helps bring down the stress of the situation and slows down the spastic speech.
I have been forgetting more and more where lists and Iphone are really not helping. The best incident that we laughed a lot was a missing can of paint. I painted our laundry nook and left a can a paint on the floor – or at least I thought I did. When we came back from Calgary, the damn paint was gone. We looked everywhere, in the garage, downstairs, upstairs, spare room (now temp kitchen), RV. Chris asked me if “I had put in one of the donate bags. We look – nope not there”. I swear gremlins took off with it. So we let it go. Two weeks later, I am going to go shopping and grab some re-usable bags from the hall closet. Inside was the can of paint. How the hell did that get in there…still do not have a clue. I laugh out loud and say that “this is the best dementia moment”.  I know that most of this will go away.  I am glad I can still laugh most the time.  Surreal experience that’s for sure.  Although I enjoy laughing at myself, and find it a great stress reducer,  I wouldn’t laugh at anyone else.  And if I don’t know you, don’t make fun at me, I might just bop you in the nose:)

5 thoughts on “Laughter makes the house go round

  1. You are describing my speech patterns there…I won’t be laughing. 🙂

  2. I have surgery on September 4th. I am looking forward to seeing me again!

  3. I suppose I can add a laugh here because at TKD, I was eavesdropping a bit when I heard the instructor (RC) talking about your surgery, asking your hubby about it. I heard him saying something about lasers, and you still couldnt quite go outside, etc. At this point I had NO idea what was happening with you so I got it in my head that maybe you had laser eye surgery (lasic?) so you wouldnt have to wear glasses anymore. Imagine my surprise a week or two later when I asked your husband and I found out it was something slightly more intrusive – brain surgery. Duh! Thats what I get for eavesdropping eh?

Leave a Reply

