Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

Grateful and a Big Shout Out!

Leave a comment

I just wanted to give a big shout out and thank you to all those that have been reading this blog.  I have had people from 11 different countries read this blog.  I am amazed.  I know that I search the Internet every night looking for someone going through the same thing to connect with and so far I haven’t found a similar story.  I have read so many stories about parents finding out their child has hydrocephalus in utero; their emotional struggles; their child’s physical struggles once born.  Or I have read stories of older people, one step away from being put into a home & being misdiagnosed for years; to being successfully being treated for Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus and gain their life back. It has given me a new perspective on the word perseverance and strength that makes my journey pale in comparison.

September is hydrocephalus Awareness month in the United States. The Hydrocephalus Association is an amazing resource for support, stories and research. The Hydrocephalus Association is the organization that developed the only guide for the unique SHYMA group which I fall into. In Canada there is the Spina Bifida & Hydrocephalus Association of Canada which I thought would be a great resource until I received an email from the Alberta representative indicating that they only support people with Hydrocephalus as a result of having Spina Bifida; so I am shit out of luck!  Nice no other help from them or suggestions. I was ready to help support and promote, but now I feel that the Spina Bifida & Hydrocephalus Association of Canada can kiss my arse! (vent done!)

I am appreciative and very grateful of the support shown to me online and in person.  This experience has allowed me to re-introduce myself to writing again. I had moved away from writing for me to putting out technical reports.  Now that the fog has lifted, I am excited to continue writing as it is my re-introduced love and to begin to shoot photographs again.  There are a couple of contests that I would like to enter.  Once my kitchen is done, I see a stock shoot calling my name.  I am always looking for models for this – family, couple, cook etc….  I just have to get better to be able to set up the lights and move freely from downstairs to upstairs.  I can not wait! In the meantime, I have about a 1000 images to upload to edit and upload to stock – if only I could remember how to edit efficiently again.  Damn brain misfires!  I think this may be a hint for me to move from Photoshop CS3 to Photoshop 6 – dare I take the plunge to learn a whole new platform…maybe…but not in the next couple of  weeks, but soon I think.

Leave a Reply

