Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

One List at a Time

2 Comments

Last week I had my first Occupational Therapy (OT) Appointment.  The person who I am assigned to asked me lots and lots of questions.  As soon I was done my session, I went to the main lobby of the hospital and fell asleep on the semi-circle couch while I waited for my ride.  When I got home, I wrote down on my phone the questions, so I could to go through in my head again – I really wasn’t confident if I answered truthfully.  For example, I was asked if I cooked by memory.  Yes of course I always do.  Yup but before surgery I was forgetting key ingredents in recipies that I have known since I was seven.  After surgery…what have I really cooked…I can’t remember.  Pretty easy stuff…put meat in slow cooker and leave it, frozen pizza, chicken nuggets (have to follow the directions on boxes).  I did realize that I forgot how to make gravy.  So I guess I will be using All Recipes or my favorite cookbooks (if I can find them) regularily now. My homework was to make a list of all the steps needed to get the kids to school on time without anyone helping.  So I made a list and the test run still had me missing stuff like getting the kids to brush their teeth and wash their faces.

This week I went in for my OT session and we went through the list again.  We broke it into two lists – things to do the night before and things to do in the morning.  Test run this morning went okay and we ended up getting everyone to school on time without forgetting anything with the help of my dad.  My downfall was that I was not prepared for the rain and in the process of trying to find a pair of jeans for me to put on, I became distracted and started taking out all my summer clothes to put away for the season.  Can you say slightly ADD – yup that is me at the moment and it all normal and will hopefully go away as the brain heals.  I have gotten an Iphone app called VoCal for my Iphone 4.  I love that it will give me a text reminder and then give me voice reminders every minute until I acknowledge the reminder.  This will help me a lot when I am on my own.

I am learning to not get frustrated with me and just accept that it will take time for my brain to heal itself.  In the meantime, I am relearning all the once unconscious steps that were in my life One List at at Time.

2 thoughts on “One List at a Time

  1. I’m curious to hear your perspective on the OT process and treatment? Were you nervous going in? What was the outcome?

    • I was not self aware during the begining of OT help and didnt understand how it helped until I went into inpatient rehab. I was more in denial & thinking that the lists were useless but now I like them. Once a routine is set, I don’t need the list but also don’t worry if I didn’t do all the steps. For example, when I need to follow recipie I need to bring out all the ingredients, line them up; when I use ingredient, I need to move item away so I know I have used it otherwise I tend to get distracted and forget where I was. I am out of inpatient and will be continuing with OT. This is a continual process in getting new thinking patterns

Leave a Reply

