Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

Giving Thanks

3 Comments

I know that I am a little late on doing a thankful post for Thanksgiving, but I belive in being grateful everyday rather than just once a year.  My son brought home a great picture of a turkey with words that his is grateful for.  He wrote down all the important stuff that his is thankful for such as health, family, our world, Medicine Hat, and chicken.

It has been almost two weeks since my dad left.  I am extremely grateful for him spending four weeks in Medicine Hat.  He totally disrupted his normal routine; missed his oldest grandson’s first touchdown and football games to come help us out.  My dad was indispensible by doing quick grocery shops, getting the boys to school and being my chauffeur by driving us every where, as well as keeping the boys occupied.

The most important thing that I am grateful for is the special bond that W & D have with their Papa.  The boys really only get to see their Nana and Papa two/three times a year so having four weeks of one on one time has created a lifetime of special memories for the boys. My dad spent countless hours playing, drawing, building Lego and just out with W & D.  My dad hardly took any time for himself to go for his daily walks or nap.  Instead he powered on even though he was tired and not used to the endless energy my two boys have.

There is no amount of money that I could ever pay for what the boys experienced.  They were so upset that Papa had to leave, but on the other hand the other two grandkids were so happy to see Papa again after a month of missing him too.

The first week after my dad was gone was like a roller coaster.  I was getting things done with my handy dandy lists, but then I would be do too much the one day and completely down for the count the next day.

This week has been better, as I am trying to limit the number of things of per day and remember to rest.  I am working on making a loose daily schedule to create a routine. I have done some research on brain injury and what I can do to be proactive to help my brain heal quicker.  Some things I read I understand, others’ I don’t understand.  I have great days and other days I complete forget.  We had two homestay student students over for dinner and I completely blanked two days later saying we did nothing that night – completely forgot.  I have been playing a Nintendo DS game brain academy before surgery and now I see an improvement.

Today I had my six week post operative follow up appointment at the Hydrocephalus Clinic at Foothills Hospital.  It was great to be so close to the only Hydrocephalus clinic in Canada.  Great to hear that they have completed thirty surgeries like mine this year alone in people with the same condition as me.  I am told I will not get my brain memory stuff will not get any worse.  The surgery fixed that.  I am told that my brain will need time to heal – “it is like an old man and doesn’t like change!” So I guess I gotta go with the flow and continue working on getting better.

3 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. Love the art work 🙂 Sorry I am late Wishing you “Happy Thanksgiving” its not until Noveember heare in the states. The brain is amazing as it continues to heal.

  2. November….sp here…sp

Leave a Reply

