Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

All I want for christmas

2 Comments

In the dining lounge this morning, there is the television blaring with news of more funerals for the kids and adults who were shot down last week. No one here really has paid attention to what has happened. There have been a few discussions about gun control but most, I think, like myself know that it has happened, but are currently being greedy and focussing on ourselves and on getting better.

Two of my table mates who both have had strokes begin to talk about what they want for christmas from Santa. It is funny because the one person begins by saying “All I want for christmas is my left arm again” The person next to him says the same thing. Both have seen improvement in the arms in a week so they are hoping by Christmas they will have their arms back. This is the place where you can see amazing improvement in people in short amounts of time. It blows my mind! I am in awe of all the people who are re-learning way more than what I have to re-learn. The people in here are the true warriors. They have so many things to re-learn that they use to do unconsciously, but now have to make conscious efforts until they each step becomes unconscious again.

The breakfast conversation made my morning because I was still wiped from three hours of neuro psychological testing yesterday. I slept after the test, got up for dinner, then watched a bit of a movie then slept all night. Today both my eyes are giving me grief – fuzzy vision (not just my right eye); I feel still tired and have a monster of a headache. Moral of the story is that when I think too hard or do too much physical I get slammed preety bad.

At least my CT scan from yesterday showed my ventricles have shrunk back down a bit which is good! That I am just experiencing a bit of chronic pain from my head. I hate the word chronic pain; people think you are a faker when that word is used.

It is awesome that I am learning about what my brain has disconnected for my speech. Apparently, my muscles in my lips need to be re-taught how to work and release. So words that begin with W, F, V, B etc. I have been hitting too hard and my lips get tense so I stutter or hit the letter too hard. I have been learning how to breath the speak and now I am learning how to soften the words. It is amazing to see and hear it work. I know that Wy noticed the way I was saying his name, but not too many other people. It probably always sound like I was angry at him, but now I am working on saying Wy’s name properly! I am learning new stuff everyday. It is just being able to remember and coorinate it all so the techniques will work.

So what do I want for Christmas…is that everyone stay safe and healthy so they do not have to visit this place too!

2 thoughts on “All I want for christmas

  1. Hugs Kelly! And keep on truckin’ on the road to recovery!!! I guess this is similar to people who have surgery on any part of their body and may need to teach other muscles to relearn or take over the job, and if you keep at it, the body and brain should become best friends again I hope, and you will look back on this having learned MUCH more about the human brain than anyone else around you, and more than you ever wanted to know 😉 Happy Holidays to you and your family and I wish you all the best!

Leave a Reply

