Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

Two Years Post Surgery

Leave a comment

My first year post surgery was a blur with more valleys than peaks. The revovery more erradic than steady. It was filled with frustration and limitations than major successes. However the first year was not all doom and gloom. The ETV stuck and with only two glitches was free flowing great.
20140917-104013-38413383.jpg

My physiatrist (Rehabilitation Doctor) said that most recovery happens within the first year of recovery and then can happen slowly up to seven or more years post surgery. Although my first year did have upward progrress, the recovery was painfullly slow and somewhat muddled. However, my second year rocked the house. All that speech therapy paid off. My processing speed picked up allowing me to understand and respond quicker. This in turn with all the speech therapy contained my stutter. All those practiced speech techniques finally come more easily so the beast barely shows its head unless I am sick or very exhausted.very tired.

Most of my ice pick, migraines have been alliviated with the use of medication and Botox.

My right side is still weak, but getting stronger with my swimming. I let go doing my old exercises and have taken up swimming. I enjoy swimming in the swim spa because it is warm and quieter than a pool.

The new prescription Lamotrigine has done wonders for fatigue and clear headedness. I feel smart again and less like trying to walk through mud. Too bad it took so long to figure out. I swear I have been on over twenty different type of prescriptions.

My hearing and smell are still sensitive but not hair trigger sensitive. I was able to spend 1.5 hours in Cross Iron Mills (until it got overwhelming busy & noisy). Once my system gets overloaded, I begin to shut down. My right side goes numb, I get disoorientated and being to fall apart a the seams.

2014/09/20140918-132813-48493574.jpg”>20140918-132813-48493574.jpg

20140918-132812-48492855.jpg

I went to mental health counselling to work out all the disappointment and anger. i have let in gratitude, play and adventure into my life. I still am an over achiever and miss my old high energy self, but i do not allow the past to get in the way of my future. I am responsible for my own happiness and positive changes in my life. It is my responsiblility to not just exist, but to live my life and make a positive impact in the world around me.

I am now responsible for being very proactive in my own health care. I ask lots of questions, have Chris help me and suggest things to the doctor. I do not just take the first answer. I ask for explanations and push. I am going to be around for a long time and want to be fit and healthy not ailing.

I am feeling stronger mentally and physically this year. As always I am not like the norm and I will most likely see more improvement beyond what the docs had stated. To move ahead
My two year anniversary was like T.S. Eliot’s The Hollow Men Where it came and went “Not with a bang but a whimper”.

I litterally mean whimper and moan of fierce pain, flu like symptoms that had me go to walk in clinic on my two year anniversary. Blood & urine tests done and waiting for results when all went of the rails sending me to emergengy two days after my anniversary I was admitted to Medicine Hat Hospital with Stevens-Johnson Syndrom..

20140918-131708-47828713.jpg

<a href="https://howdyhydro.files.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

