Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

A glitch

Leave a comment

IMG_4780So I have been doing this elimination diet in hopes to find new energy for my beyond endless fatigue, bad skin, and motility problems. So I enter into the second week all good. Thinking that the first week wasn’t too bad. I didn’t have any cravings and my skin appeared to look better.  My constantly runny nose and sludge going down the back of my throat has stopped! Well the motility problems went from a complete standstill (since having SJS even motility prescriptions/nor fibre have helped) to “hey – I am here and don’t ignore me or I will teach you a lesson” type of quickness. Crap – I mean literally crap and plenty of it too! Plus the added walking and farting phenomena too. I don’t even know the last time I farted. Everyone would make fun of me because I could never fart, but heck even a smell of a carbonated drink or water and I was burping louder than a 300lb man! Here I was hoping energy; however, I was extremely tired…three hour naps, full nights sleep (other than the endless bathroom trips from 9:30pm-12:00am), sleeping in an extra 15 minutes….snooze, snore, snooze and maybe a snort here or there – this was me a walking zombie wearing a toque because I hadn’t showered and my hair only wanted to stand up straight. Instead I got poop! And then in the second week, my skin begins to crap out too!

I accidently have wheat & dairy in something and say to “hell with it” and have a beer as well as I glitched and didn’t read a label correctly. So that night in bed I start to cough as I feel sludge going down my throat…yuck the runny nose thing had started again.

The next day I start all over again and begin again.  It is not a failure but just a glitch in my embracing a new way of eating. Absolute change can not happen overnight.

I wrote that eight days ago. Today I began week three. I won’t begin to introduce some foods just yet as I know that dairy, gluten and nightshade veggies trigger me.

four days ago I got a hold of my physiatrist and we decided to tirate down on propranol as it may be a big factor in causing the lethargic, fatigue, dizziness and just plain yucky feelings. I already have relatively low-normal blood pressure under 110/70 and the meds lower your blood pressure further. I tried this med when I first came out of hospital and found it very horrible, but my Dr. wanted to try it again. I responded better by not having my vision go black and almost passing out all the time.  I am down to three pills twice a day and I have a bit more energy, but I did sleep in today and I also had a nap too!  We will keep playing by ear. I still don’t think it is the right med for me. However, it has made sleeping through the night easier.

Here’s to hopefully moving a head instead of backwards.

Leave a Reply

