Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

Bringing back the Food!

Leave a comment

_MG_0069aOkay I survived the elimination food diet. It really wasn’t that bad. There are so many options to eat. You get to re-discover the real tastes of foods again. I also was able to experiment with foods I haven’t eaten in a long time or ever. Although I travelled in the southern United States and I tried grits (didn’t like), fresh beady eyed shrimp (good); I didn’t have the opportunity to try okra. (given that were were on a young person’s budget which meant we lived in tent and cooked our own food).  I finally was able to try okra and I loved it. I just need to learn how to cook it at home. I just hope it is not part of the nightshade family. I experimented with recipies. I made a bean and sweet potato soup, or what the boys call a stew. It was yummy and the boys even liked it (score!) The boys have loved the granola too! So much I am making it from scratch (easy peasy) as soon as I was able to find GF oat as the tiny bags as store are ridiculously priced. I saw a funny video and thought here I am writing about my experiences.  How to become gluten intolerant I know that there are plenty of books on this. I only read one (forget title) based on food intolerances and I never finished it as it ended up being a diet to lose weight book. What a crock. The book sparked my memory of allergy testing eons ago and gave me courage with food recipies (along with Internet) to move forward to see if my tap of a nose, rash, snots & bubbles were caused by food or other external factors. The only way you could lose weight by doing the elimination diet is really like any other diet is to cut calories and starve yourself. There really are endless good food items to indulge in.

I was so excited to bring back the food, I kind of forgot the second part of the elimination diet and went full bore into eating. Never trust a brain injured person (okay just me) to get it right the first time. I ordered a fast food burger and french fries (hey I am human) then ate/devoured it without thinking (can’t remember if I breathed at all during the feast). Of course I still have no idea which items of food were bugging my chest and nose as I ate wheat, dairy, tomato. Oops.. all I know is that my face felt tingly, I got phlegmy and my nose ran. Great.  What was I supposed to do again. Oh yeah…add back one food item every four or five days. Mmmm what to do…carry on like all is normal. and try, try again.

_MG_0060aSo after another food kafuffle or two or four, I have found out that I am able to eat corn, peanuts (not a big fan of peanut butter but fell in love with almond butter in this process), and soy. I will continue being gluten free for a bit. However I miss having a beer (nose runs almost immediately when drink it). I love cheese and have been dreaming about when I could re-introduce cheese. I went out and bought brie and herbed goat cheese to test dairy this week. I am a little dis-heartened as I had a fruit smoothie for dinner at a restaurant as the boys had burgers & ice cream for dinner (a treat from surviving their yearly check up at our family doctor). About 30 minutes after drinking my mango/pineapple smoothie, I was given a treat of some nice belly pains. So instead of calling off all dairy for the evening, I instead bring out my wonderful cheese, rice crackers and a glass of red wine after the  boys go to bed. Mmmmm the brie was soft and rich, while the tangy goat cheese went awesome with the wine. All went down smoothly. I went to bed and woke up coughing from a phlegmy choking feeling. Damn…not the cheese…I love the cheese. So I made a compromise with myself. I will try not to eat cheese daily but will allow myself to indulge once in a while. I do this as I working out food options for when my friend , Manj, the four kids and I take off to a cabin in Cypress Hills for a few days during spring break. Life isn’t black & white so my food choices will not be either. I will just have to live with the consequences.

Leave a Reply

