Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

Building Yourself Up

Leave a comment

Okay I admittedly ran myself down and it has taken awhile to be at 50% function. The erratic spring weather changes, Chinook winds and lack of sleep have not helped in speeding up my recovery. On Easter weekend a blister formed on the inside of my mouth behind my top six teeth. I really didn’t think much about it as my flares for SJS (stevens-Johnson syndrome) had eased and my hair had even started to stop falling out.

PassTheRibbonTwo weeks ago, a Facebook friend, SJS survivor, and SJS advocate, Julie McCawley developed a very bad flare. I think that Julie’s mom started Stevens Johnson Syndrome Foundation in 1996. In 1994 at ten months of age, Julie McCawley was diagnosed with SJS and has been fighting this battle ever since. I looked at images of her flare and felt her pain. Her flares are much more drastic than mine. But she is a strong woman that inspires many people who are also facing SJS.

Two days ago, my lips felt like they were burning and peeling even though I was putting on lip balm and drinking lots of water. Yesterday, my hair started to fall out again and sensitive skin behind my neck. Later that day I find a couple little round blisters. They are small with red and purple in the middle and my sensitive skin is itchy. Great time for the Benadryl. I guess with being run down, my immune system took a hit and I am lucky to have a little flare.

I guess I could have predicted it coming. I was feeling run down, fatigued, headachey and in a bit of pain. When I feel like that I don’t necessarily take my vitamins, eat right or feel like taking care of my self. I know that is when you should be taking care of yourself the most, but I don’t always have the energy to when I feel like crap.

So my goal this week is to build myself up – start taking my vitamins, rest lots, exercise a bit, eat healthy. I will try to take it once step at a time. Hopefully I will be back up and running shortly. I have lots to do! When you are feeling down or out of sorts, what do you do to build yourself up? Any suggestions will be helpful. Maybe I am missing something in my diet. I know that exercise for me is a bone of contention. I want to do some but then end up toasted. I definitely need help there as I am becoming a chunky monkey like my dog. I am becoming limited on wardrobe choices.

Leave a Reply

