Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

Cautiously Optimistic Round Two

1 Comment

images (2)Monday May 11, 2015, finally got to go see my physiatrist at Foothills. We talked about my being in pain since April 5th. We then talked about the emotional roller coaster ride that went hand in hand with the pain. She also ordered a CT scan because of the weird auditory things and head pressure that has also been happening.

She gave me a new sleep prescription to use if needed.

We talked about different alternative therapies that may or may not work for me. I liked that we talked about her research in sports and concussions. We also talked about the placebo effect. How that 30% of any treatment, drug, therapy is placebo effect. So it is hard to determine which alternative therapies would work for me. Then hubby brought up the if using medical marijuana would be an option. Because my kids where in the room, the Doc asked if we smoked via symbols. We said no. She said there are three ways smoking with a vaporizer to get rid of toxins, using a nasal mist or by pill form.

The Doc thought that Cesamet (nabilone) would be a great adjunct treatment with the Botox treatment. Cesamet is a man-made form of cannabis (also known as marijuana).

f43231246f0fb14e63a92944ab735993So I had nothing to lose. From day three on I walked around with a perma grin not because I felt high, but because I felt very little pain.It still feels surreal to be the most pain free in over 3.5 years. The pain is not gone, but it is amazingly reduced! I still get the fire ants up and down my right side of body and face, but instead of pain, it is just like little marching ants feet. I get break through pain from weather systems, over stimulation and from my eyes, but it is nothing compared to what it was. My right eye still does it’s own thing and I can feel it twitch etc but there is no ice pick or butcher knife piercing through my eyeball.  I still get the aura symptoms of weird visual patterns and wonky vision, but I don’t get the full headache pain. We had a thunderstorm warning yesterday and a small storm today. My head felt like I was wearing a helmet, heavy and constricting. I could still feel the pressure, but not the pain so much. It is quite the feeling to be a human bobble head that may explode at any moment but without the physical shooting/throbbing ice pick pain.

chronic painI feel free and light! I do not feel high. I feel very awake and alive. It is so amazing to have some of my life back. The world is not fuzzy or blurry (still can be tho) but way more in focus. The huge heavy backpack, chains, rocks of pain have been decreased to a manageable level. I had no idea how much I used the power of positive thinking, mindfulness and relaxation breathing to help with my pain. I know that I would always minimize the pain because why would you bother telling people about it too much. I mean the story gets old for me, so sure in the  hell it has gotten old for others too. I have some side effects, such as it has slowed down my digestive and motility to a near stop. This does not make you feel comfortable so I am taking steps to get it under control. I did feel a bit nauseous but hell I was feeling sick to my stomach 24/7 for the longest time so no biggie and that even went away after about ten days of treatment. The pill hasn’t cured my brain injury, but it has brought some relief to pain so I can hopefully now work on my brain quirks. My memory and awareness still needs to improve. I was towing my hubby and son behind in a dune buggy and didn’t realize until I got back to the truck that the rope had snapped and left them in the dust over a few hills back! I posted this today and somehow, it showed up for a bit then reverted back to a draft that I thought I had erased. I have no idea what button I pushed, but what was showing this evening was not what I had posted this morning. Boo Hiss…disappeared to me hitting wrong button when i tried to correct a date. I also put last years date. I honestly still thought it was 2014. OMG it is almost half way through 2015.

kelly dec 2014 359 - CopyHowever despite how squirrelly I am acting, I feel like I want to take flight and just grab life again and be a part of it. But all my family and doctors all want me to take it easy. My hubby wants me to be at least six months pain-free before I decide to do “something” That “something” I am still working on and look forward to doing eventually. Here’s a big cheer for being cautiously optimistic round two

One thought on “Cautiously Optimistic Round Two

  1. Dear Kelly, Thank you so much for becoming a follower of my blog, and now I will be a follower of yours, too. What a fountain of excellent information you have. I am sorry about your chronic pain… Blessings, David W Swafford, DWSNarratives

Leave a Reply

