Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

The battle between a clean deck and empty energy tank

Leave a comment

IMG_3591This was my battle and I won. You would never think that a deck could be so sneaky and ninja like could you. But for a person such as myself recovering from a TBI/ABI with major fatigue issues a clean deck can be a nasty fight. First off, I actually “noticed” how grubby our back deck was. I wasn’t distracted by pain or other stuff that can “blind” me to seeing how the world is around me. Second, I moved all the furniture out of the way and then I cleaned the deck by mopping it. I also conquered the deck from start to finish in one go; not my usual family frustrating chain of events.

That does not sound like much to most normal energy people, but this is an amazing step for me. It turned out that the deck is not tan, but really grey. It looks so amazing except for the three steps I forgot to clean on the one side of the deck. Can’t expect perfection when progress has finally started to show up. Oh well – a person can compare colour differences more easily now. I am so over the moon with my new found energy! My progress is blowing me a way every day!

This how cleaning a deck looked like for me for the last three years. How in 33 short steps and a couple months you can have a clean deck when you experience TBI & fatigue issues

1) Jump in and start moving deck chairs

2) Realize that you have blocked yourself into a corner.

3) Move Deck chairs again.

4) Go upstairs and lie down. Head is spinning and no muscle strength

5) Get distracted with something else

6) Forget about half moved deck furniture

7) That day to two weeks later…finally remember that you were going to clean the deck

8) Move the rest of furniture.

9) Go upstairs and lie down. Head is spinning and no muscle strength

IMG_359210) Get distracted with something else

11) Forget about all the displaced deck furniture

12) That day to two weeks later…finally remember that you were going to clean the deck

13) Look for the mop & mop bucket. They moved with us..right!?!

14) Look for floor cleaning solution. We had a big bottle somewhere

15) Arrange all outside & then go upstairs to rest

16) Go upstairs and lie down. Head is spinning and no muscle strength

17) Get distracted with something else

18) Forget about the filled mop bucket with cleaning solution

19) That day to two weeks later…finally remember that you were going to clean the deck

20) Mop half the deck into a corner

21) Re-mop myself out of a corner

22) Go upstairs and lie down. Head is spinning and no muscle strength

23) Get distracted with something else

24) Forget about all the half mopped deck

25) That day to two weeks later…finally remember that you were going to clean the deck

26) Finish mopping deck and start to move back furniture

27) Re-mop deck as there are dirty streaks from moving back furniture

28) Go upstairs and lie down. Head is spinning and no muscle strength

29) Get distracted with something else

31) Forget about putting away mop

32) That day to two weeks later…finally you remember that the dirty mop & bucket is still outside

33) Look around and think…I need to relax out here more!

Leave a Reply

