Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

A crash course

3 Comments

kelly dec 2014 290 - CopyI am fortunate that the last couple months have been filled new long lost energy that I never thought I would ever get back. I have friends and family who I thought new about me and understood my condition but to only find out they they really didn’t understand all this time. I know that they keep hoping I get better. I will never “get better” it is not like a virus where you are back to you 100% old self. It is more about adaptation, flexibility and being creative in finding ways to live a productive life. And the definition of “productive life” is also not the old way of what you thought was a productive life either.

When you are faced with a long-term chronic condition (I won’t call it an illness as this confuses the shit out of people and they think you will get better) you are forced into a new way of life. One of your new found roles is a crash course in accounting. Even if you hate math with a passion, you are forced to learn the debit and credit system. You also are forced to learn to budget to have that little slush fund for that proverbial rainy day.

Sounds like a great deal. Learn a new profession, work with numbers etc…. However the downside of these new roles do not come with any fancy designation, nice salary or working with lots of money. Instead you are forced to work with a very highly sought after commodity; an elusive currency that has more ups and downs than the NY Stock Exchange – Energy!

Energy and pain are two things that unaffected people have a hard time understanding. They are often taken for granted and never thought of unless you are directly put in the situation of being in a continual energy deficit or in a perpetual state of pain wealth. I have tried to keep up but have crashed and burned. I am the worst accountant in training in my new chronic class. I am on the remedial programming as I still trying to live life by the seat of my pants rather than following the new accounting practices that I have been taught.

I have never even tried to explain how I have felt or feel to people. I couldn’t put it into words that would makes sense where I wouldn’t sound like a person that needs to be put in a rubber room or the new found trend of being “euthanized for mental anguish”.  I had heard of the Spoon Theory before but never really read anything about it until today. I love how it visually represents energy and planning in a tangible sense. Please check out But You Don’t Look Sick’s website as there is a great post on how the author explains how living with Lupus is like using the Spoon theory. I am inspired and grateful for learning something new that I can pass on to advocate for myself and for others.

3 thoughts on “A crash course

Leave a Reply

