Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

I’m Back

Leave a comment

Wow this summer has been one wild ride. My pain levels have been managed with my new med mix. This left me with having energy but with a brain with racing thoughts, low attention and a go-go-go never stop type until you drop type of mentality.

So I just let everything go and enjoyed just being able to actually be a apart of life a lot more. I had a fun summer with the boys. We had no routine, schedule or things planned other than our trip to Vancouver Island.

The boys ran crazy; they were a part of their own wild thing type of clan. I have no idea how much they showered (if any); when or what they ate (probably mostly junk food); how many hours of video gaming (The gaming machine did not overheat); how many hours of hockey, football, basketball, swimming or lacrosse (garage door & car dents accounted for). It is all a blur of running boys, inside outside upside down with a trail dirty cups, spilled popcorn, granola bar wrappers, shoes, wet swim suits and piles of dirty laundry and hidden smelly socks in various furniture.

I was unable to sit down and write. I physically could not site still to read, draw, let alone write. I really wanted to share this summer. There were so many obstacles that I have finally overcome. But my TBI brain wouldn’t allow me to focus on intelligent conversation, sustained attention and unjumbled thoughts. I am glad that I let my body adjust to the meds and let things come back to even keel as now it is mid October and I am able to sit still long enough and write. I actually did begin October 2, but I have no idea where my draft went…somewhere floating in some random person’s email probably.

Then my son broke his leg October 3 and we have been adjusting to that. Talk about mess up my morning routine (LOL) I do my best and some days we are on time for school and others we are not. At least I haven’t forgotten a kid yet.

I passed my 3rd year brain surgery September 4 and my first year Steven-Johnson’s Syndrome (SJS) recovery September 5 with some major recovery milestones. Pain mostly controlled. I still feel tingling and fire ants on my right side. My right side aches when I do too much. I can live with that! But I am doing oh so much more. I still require my naps to be functional, but they are not all day naps unless I go hard core non-stop for a bit. I can live with that! I still get headaches and migraines but they have an beginning and a end rather than a continuous pain that doesn’t end. I can live with that!

I still have sensitive skin, itchy skin and rashes still. I am hoping we can get a handle on this as I hate having lots of cuts and scabs on my arms, legs and back. I am looking like a drug addict. The intense itching really bugs me. I am glad that my mouth only gets irritated once or twice month. I can even floss my teeth now. It takes a lot of energy not focus on the itching. At night it is really bad.

Believe me I am ecstatic about all the positive milestones in my recovery and I don’t focus on my annoyances of this recovery, but i still one not to settle. I am beginning to focus on my next milestones. Sustained energy and steady cognitive improvement. I can see work in the future. I have no clue what type of work, but it does seem more obtainable now!

So I am back not only from my break from writing but I AM BACK to land of living instead of sitting on the sidelines. It just makes it easier to live a meaninful life when not in as much pain.

Leave a Reply

