Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

Fatigue Tips – my ass

2 Comments

images (2)I remember when I attended a support group for ten TBIers like myself. The support group was run by two to three employees who basically ran it Nazi style by shoving their agenda and information down our throats. Instead of facilitating. It was interesting to be a part of in slightly sick and twisted way. I felt like it was a train wreck and I couldn’t look away. I really hated going as it was kind of embarrassing to sit through. It allowed for very little discussion and information was spoon fed to you like you could not understand. It felt that there was a us versus them scenario and we were the broken “thems”.

However, I know one of the facilitators and it was run with the best intentions, but from the intentions of a “normal” person. Because this person worked at a Brain Injury Rehabilitation place, she should have known that brain injury does not affect intelligence but instead affects other cognitive factors that can make us seem not intelligent. It felt like we were not respected as adults.

I remember that that one week of the eight week program was about fatigue. It really irked the information fed out was that fatigue was our fault because of exercise, motivation, eating, and sleeping habits. The suggestions were all well meaning but fucking utterly useless and made me angry that Brain Injury workers had nothing useful to give use. Everyone went very quiet in the room and looked down. There was anger, defeat and pure frustration oozing from everyone. I really didn’t like the suggestions because each one was more of an assumption that it was your personal fault for the fatigue and you were not working hard enough to fix it.

For example, you are experiencing fatigue because you do not exercise enough, eat healthy enough, do not have proper sleeping habits, not motivated etc…. We were not all newbies with our TBIs we have tried all and continue to try to use all the techniques but still are experiencing issues. When I asked about medicines. We were not encouraged to discuss what meds or techniques have worked for us, the TBIers, I was not able ask any of my fellow warriors. We were told that we had to discuss anything with our doctors. Doctors are human and sometimes at a loss too so hearing what other doctors have tried with other TBIers is very important.

images (1)

My fatigue level ranges from moderate to the extreme fatigue all the time, even with my awesome new meds. It is no fun, but mid day rests are still mandatory in my life. My energy levels fluctuate throughout the day like anyone else’s but they may wane and fluctuate way quicker.

Fatigue is defined as:

fa·tigue
fəˈtēɡ/
noun
noun: fatigue; noun: fatigue detail; plural noun: fatigue details
  1. 1.
    extreme tiredness, typically resulting from mental or physical exertion or illness.
    “he was nearly dead with fatigue”
    synonyms: tiredness, weariness, sleepiness, drowsiness, exhaustion, enervation,languor, lethargy, torpor, prostration;

    war-weariness
    “his body was slumped from fatigue”
    antonyms: energy
    • a reduction in the efficiency of a muscle or organ after prolonged activity.
    • weakness in materials, especially metal, caused by repeated variations of stress.
      plural noun: fatigues
      “metal fatigue”
    • a lessening in one’s response to or enthusiasm for something, typically as a result of overexposure to it.
      “museum fatigue”

images fatigue-symptoms

600px-Signs_of_fatigue pain sc TR_6_1 fig 1

TBI fatigue is often very hard to manage and is often a long-term affect when adapting with a TBI. I still have a hard time dealing with fatigue. I loath being fatigued. I really could not explain it to anyone until a friend of mine with Lupus posted The Spoon Theory by Christine Miserandino at www.butyoudontlooksick.com. It is the easiest way to explain to anyone about chronic conditions and fatigue.

dog

The normals methods to help with regular fatigue such as exercise, cutting caffiene, cutting sugar, eating healthy, and reducing stress do not work for TBI or other chronic conditions. I was going to write down my own list of suggestions to help minimize fatigue in daily life, but I found a great blog post by a fellow blogger and TBIer. Simple Tips to Manage Fatigue with Brain Injury, Memory Problems, and Chronic Illness to Self Rehabilitate

I am will not waste my precious energy re-inventing the wheel when this article has some awesome advice.  Cheers to the days with extra spoons and Boo to the days where you boom then bust.

2 thoughts on “Fatigue Tips – my ass

  1. I FREAKING LOVE THIS! Thank you for posting it. I have been struggling lately (feeling guilty) about feeling tired. I eat “healthy”, but am overweight. Plus with my myriad of other health problems I worry that I’m tired because now I have sleep apnea and maybe this isn’t brain fatigue.

  2. PS, in case it wasn’t clear….I have 2 brain tumors and have had 2 craniotomies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

