Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

Hair Raiser

Leave a comment

1445014510320

After a year of burned mucus membranes on my scalp from SJS or Stevens-Johnson Syndrome, my hair is currently staying in, growing and healthier than what it was.

It really feels nice to notice that my hair doesn’t look like straw or is in clumps clinging to the back of my sweater. My boys currently have longer hair than me and they keep saying “mom…grow your hair…it would look so nice!”  Believe me I didn’t want to cut my hair short, I had to. My hair was clogging the drains when I washed my hair. I hated to  shampoo my hair and my fingers would be covered in my hair. I thought I was going bald so I cut it. I am extremely fortunate, that it appears that I do not have any missing patches on my scalp (from badly damaged folicles). However, I do have crazy curly hair so if there are minor spots, my hair covers them up.

It is so funny because for most of last year. I went everywhere with a headband on. It was just easier to just to wear a toque in winter and a headband the rest of the year to cover up the falling out wieird growing back hot mess of a head I had.

I really didn’t thing anything of my so called fashion choice other than I looked like I was really old or maybe I just felt really old or most likely I felt a lot of both. this is what I looked like 95% of the year: 1439575455025

To  September to October above my hair has really started to grow. Yay! 20150718_202519My hair has always been my identifier. I am not a make up gal & my hair thank god is curly so I all I really had to do in the past was just put product in my hair and run my fingers through it. It was easy peasy. The hair falling out thing was really a little freaky because it does not always grow back. I really do not know if I would have been up for a wig especially since I wear my tinted glasses that age me to a retro 70’s person. I am pushing my limits on cloudy days with going with my regular glasses or contacts too.

1442713687511

My skin is still really sensitive to different clothing fibres, soaps, paints etc….It still get blisters. I had a reaction around my wedding ring and it took my skin almost two months to heal. My back goes from no irriated to having my whole back itch, burn and blister quickly. My shoulders and upper arms still flare as well too. There is not much I can do but wait it out and take antihistamines, and use my prescription pain/anti-itch salve.  The salve is sticky and smelly so it is not much fun. Living in a very dry climate does not help nor does the changing of the seasons as well.

I am hopefully going to get to see a dermatologist soon…maybe in a year or so on the waiting list. who knows. But overall I think most of my symptoms have disappeared or have settled for a bit. I am hoping that the oversensitivity will ease soon too!

Leave a Reply

