Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

The Call

Leave a comment

Yesterday I got a call from a Dr. He phone to touch base with me because he has a conflict in appts. and most likely will not be at my appt. on monday. However, his assistant will be there administering my tests. He then asked me what school I applied for. I told him I hadn’t applied to anything yet. I told him I didn’t know what I want or was capable or suitable for me to do.

He asked if I wanted to attend Medicine Hat College? I said that prior to and during my dementia phase I taught at the college for one semester. I said I had been accepted into a Master of Science program at Royal Roads. I told him that due to a lot of factors I can no longer perform in my old profession as I had once had. He said he reviewed my first neuropsych.

I told him I was looking at online Recreation therapy assistant program, art therapy program or masters of counselling or graphic design. But I am not too sure if I could pass any if I took the courses.

I told him that I could write more freely now. That my typing speed made it easy for my fingers to get the words out without thinking too hard. Not like it used to be when writing (excluding bad days…avoid puter then). That my pain meds made my hand work better. That my eyes could take computer longer.

IMG_1223.GIFI told him that I could read books…lots of books…understand the words. BUT and a big but was that I have a hard time understanding context and following story. Subcontext and underlying meaning…forget it. Just like I have a hard time understanding sarcasm and jokes these days, the higher part of thinking is what I am having trouble with. The critical thinking, analysis and all that jazz.

I told him that I wasn’t wanting to waste money if really there was no way I could improve. I need help in improving what was once so easy for me. I was use to be able to draw inferences and bring together ideas for an arugment easy. Now I read stuff and go WTF.

So after what seemed like 30 minutes of talking on the phone (it was probably less than 10) I hung up with a follow up telephone call appt. the 23.

Tomorrow night, hubby and I head to Calgary for my appt on Monday. The first starts at 9:00am. The second appt of the joyous botox shots at 1300 and if I need more tests, I finish the day with those. Boo Yah…getting to getting the call and hopefully more answers to re-work this unique brain of mine

Leave a Reply

