Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

How many layers of an Onion

Leave a comment

A long time ago in a blog far far away, I wrote about the cliche of how a TBI/ABI compares to an onion in my recovery.

Well now I am wondering just how many onions are there in this journey? Definitely more than one, two…three or a whole sack? Can someone tell me? I would really like to know.

I mean I am definitely way more cognitively aware this year, even my memory is remembering weird stuff but forgetting the easy stuff. I have been trying to cut down on the naps and pushing through with the aid of my sleeping pills at night again.

I successfully handled my son’s first hockey tournament, thank goodness for hubby to help get my son ready, ear plugs, across arena seating. I even enjoyed watching the games. I even did 50-50 sales. It took me a bit with adding and splitting funds as I had to re-count over six times but I did it!!!

I made it through the feelings of anxiety and overstimulation by breathing and sleeping. I felt so exhausted by Sunday, that I exclaimed that it was weird that Wy had energy and I was sapped when you would think that the person playing on the ice (Wy) would be the tired one. I now can work with the fish trying to go upstream type of visual & feeling in a public situation. I still have a hard time trying to watch hockey via netting; it is very distracting and gives me a headache instantly.

A really big accomplishment for me was not shoving a horn up a guys butt. We were sitting on the other side of ice away from stands to avoid excess noise and visual distractions. I had ear plugs in and of course dude comes and decides to watch the game where we were. OMG. I was so close to snapping, but I didn’t. I acted like an adult but in my head horn guy didn’t fair so well. Especially since the other team scored 12 goals and I had to endure that excessive horn blowing for all 12 goals and then some added horn blowing as well.

So many positives this year already but then when I have accomplished a goal of living, another little thing decides to become a challenge. I am not too sure if it is because I was focussing on issues that these ones have now become important to me. I have been to the doctor three times, have had blood tests once. I had a form for other blood tests, but lost it. So the good news is that I do not have diabetes but now we are thinking the my pituitary or hypothalamus may be acting up with hormone and/or body regulation. With that I really do not know what that means just yet or what direction we will be going. I guess this can happen right away to a person with a TBI, the next day or even years after the initial injury.

So here’s hoping to a sale on onions in the produce department because I may have a whole sack to peel layer by layer
IMG_0870.JPG

Leave a Reply

