Howdy Hydrocephalus

Understanding my unique gyroscope

Daith Piercings & the Migraine Hoopla

1 Comment

My brain doctor had mentioned getting this piercing done about two years ago. I was hesitant as piercings and often do not get along. I always was sensitive with puffy and burning ears not matter what metals I had in my ears. Plus I was skeptical about if a piercing would work to help alleviate migraine pain.

About ten weeks ago, a friend who was frustrated with getting migraines 4-5 times a week took the plunge and had Daith piercings done. BTW Daith is pronounced not like faith but instead like moth so Doth although the spelling would not suggest that. In the time that she had her piercings done, she had only one full blown migraine. She would still feel pressure but it would not progress any further.

On April 25 I went into a local Doctor’s office to have my Botox done. The nurse who put my needles in my head never worked with me before. She didn’t want to put extra needles in the places where I usually have them. I explained that my eye has never dropped before. Instead she put needles in my cheek bone…wha… and left feeling frustrated and not heard. Some people just get all huffy and in your face when you try to explain where the needles are usually placed. Crap it is my body and I am not shitting you she overrode anything I said as “That brain injured girls doesn’t know shit”. Needless to say I waited two weeks for the Botox to kick in. I felt horrible. I phoned back to the office and played telephone tag with the nurse. She left some gruff messages. I finally got a hold of her and she was not friendly but acting like I was scamming her. Meanwhile I was in bed, not eating, feeling sick to my stomach with the pain. The only time she could squeeze me in was when I was in Calgary for another appointment.  So on May 12, I could feel a storm coming in. I was laid up in bed, my right eye watering and feeling horrible. I looked online yet again at all the info about Daith piercings. There seemed to be a 50-50 chance it might work. Many pages indicated that Daith piercings used accupunctor points, but upon searching, I found that this was not true. The acupuncture points were no where near the piercing location. But then I thought about acupressure points and then my troublesome Vargas Nerve that was responsible for my slow digestion, motility, wack body temperature, swallowing and my stutter. I learned about this nerve from my speech pathologist when I was learning not to stutter. It is a very large branching nerve that basically goes all over the body and because of that is called the wandering nerve. One of the points on my head that I press down when in pain from the 24/7 migraine is apart of this nerve system. I looked up where it went and the nerve extends to where the piercing is located. 

So with that in mind, I called the place that did my friend’s piercing and they told me to come down. I drove…I shouldn’t have driven because my vision was not the best, my eye was continuously tearing, the nerve tingling was all over my face, chest and right side; the pressure was so much I though my head was going to explode and I was not really sure if my right leg would cooperate as I drove but I got there. I walked in and she took one look at me and said “you are in pain…right?” Oh yeah I was. I sat down in the chair and she got things ready.

I had the piercing done. It was super quick. I didn’t hurt when she did the one ear but the other when she put the needle from the bottom up hurt more. Nothing Like the migraine pain or 40 needle pain or labor pain. But I may not be the right person to talk about pain levels as my tolerance is a little high. I had both ears done.

Instantly the pressure in my head felt lighter and my eye stopped tearing. It was a weird feeling…there is no way I can describe it. I walked back to my car when the thunder and lightening started. I felt decent. I was skeptical there is no way this really should have worked…really there is only people’s written experience – no backed science.  Actually I am still skeptical still and now it is almost three weeks in. Is it the placebo affect or did it put pressure on the nerve…who the heck knows.

The weather is just finishing up a huge low pressure system with strong winds that they predicted an inland cyclone but winds didn’t get that strong here but where 80-90km/hr instead. This would have put me in bed the day before the storm to the day after the storm. Right now it is still windy with gusts of 50km/hr and I am still standing and functioning which is amazing. It is not to say that I never felt anything.  I felt like I was walking through gauze the first day. Yesterday and today I feel a little pain over my eyebrow at my regular point, my right forearm and shin felt like wood, there was tingling like crazy and my eye watered only a little. This is a big improvement on my ability to function.

So what can I say. I hope that my piercings heal well and my body does not reject the metal. I am still treating this as my own personal experiment. So I must thank that huffy and grumpy nurse for not listening to me as now I have another potential tool in my arsenal of migraine fighters. My expectations are different than most; I will take any relief. I also do not expect anything to ever fully get rid of my pain or make me back to normal. This is how it is. However, if there can be any tools that can help allievate or minimize the symptoms then it is a win. I am still uncertain if it is working or if it just me wanting to work, but I don’t know if I really believed it would work so I am left a little confused on the whole thing. I think I will just keep monitoring and leave it as a wait and see type of experiment.

Here hoping that you have a pain free or as little pain as possible day. Cheers to you as I put rocks in my pocket before going out side so I don’t blow away!

One thought on “Daith Piercings & the Migraine Hoopla

  1. You have to try new ways of treatment…..you never know what is going to work!

Leave a Reply

